Skip Navigation

Back to Index

State of Disaster Declared for Currituck, Dare, Hyde and Tyrrell Counties

Release Date: November 12, 2012

Gov. Perdue has issued a state of disaster declaration for  Currituck, Dare, Hyde and Tyrrell  counties, which is in effect from November 8, 2012, through January 7, 2013, as a result of damage associated with Hurricane Sandy in that area in late October. 

During the designated period, members living in or displaced from the impacted areas will be able to get an early prescription refill or replace a lost or destroyed prescription, by making a request at any participating pharmacy.  Members and employers located within or displaced from these impacted counties will get an additional 30 days (the grace period that already applies) to pay their premiums.  

Also, members, groups, and providers in the disaster area who identify themselves as being impacted by the severe weather in that area will receive a 30‑day extension in meeting any contractual or state legal obligation that becomes due during the disaster period. This applies to underwritten, ASO, and State Health Plan members (it does not apply to the Federal Employee Program or Medicare Parts C or D). 

In addition, as required by state statute, BCBSNC will provide a month extension for other deadlines or requirements that would fall during the first 30 days following the disaster declaration date. Those include requirements related to:

  • Submission of claims
  • Filing of appeals of denied claims
  • Requests for authorization of medical services or appeals
  • Additions of newborn and adopted children to a medical policy

If a member should have any questions, please advise them to call BCBSNC Customer Service at the toll-free number on their BCBSNC ID card.

If you have questions, please contact the Provider Blue LineSM at 1.800.214.4844.